About Paul Bailey
Books by Paul Bailey
Author, Paul Bailey

Paul Bailey

About Paul Bailey

An Interview with Paul Bailey

More About Paul Bailey

Paul Bailey worked as an actor before becoming a full time writer in 1967. He won the E. M. Forster Award in 1974, and the George Orwell Prize in 1978. He is currently a writer in residence at Kingston University.

His novels include At The Jerusalem (1967), which won both a Somerset Maugham Award and an Arts Council Writers' Award, Peter Smart's Confessions (1977), Gabriel's Lament (1986), Sugar Cane (1993), sequel to Gabriel's Lament, Kitty and Virgil (1998), and Uncle Rudolf (2002). He has also written radio and television plays, and his non-fiction books include two volumes of memoir, and several biographies. Find Books by Paul Bailey

Sign Up
  • Penguin Newsletter

Sign up for the Penguin newsletter here»

Email Alerts

To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:

The author releases another book  


Send this page to a friend