A Memoir

Frank Conroy - Author

Paperback | $15.00 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780140044461 | 288 pages | 24 Feb 1977 | Penguin | 5.07 x 7.79in | 18 - AND UP
Additional Formats:
Summary of Stop-Time Summary of Stop-Time Reviews for Stop-Time An Excerpt from Stop-Time

First published in 1967, Stop-Time was immediately recognized as a masterpiece of modern American autobiography, a brilliant portrayal of one boy's passage from childhood to adolescence and beyond. Here is Frank Conroy's wry, sad, beautiful tale of life on the road; of odd jobs and lost friendships, brutal schools and first loves; of a father's early death and a son's exhilarating escape into manhood.

Stop-Time Prologue

1. Savages
2. Space and a Dead Mule
3. Going North
4. White Days and Red Nights
5. Hate, and a Kind of Music
6. Please Don't Take My Sunshine Away
7. Shit
8. A Yo-Yo Going Down, A Mad Squirrel Coming Up
9. Falling
10. The Coldness of Public Places
11. Blindman's Buff
12. Nights Away from Home
13. Death by Itself
14. License to Drive
15. Hanging On
16. Losing My Cherry
17. Going to Sea
18. Elsinore, 1953
19. The Lock on the Metro Door
20. Unambiguous Events


To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:

The author releases another book