Six Yuan Plays

Six Yuan Plays

Various - Author

Liu Jung-En - Translator

Paperback | $17.00 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780140442625 | 288 pages | 30 Sep 1972 | Penguin Classics | 5.07 x 7.79in | Adult
Summary of Six Yuan Plays Summary of Six Yuan Plays Reviews for Six Yuan Plays An Excerpt from Six Yuan Plays
Six vibrant plays from the thirteenth century represent the first real Chinese theater to develop free from conservative Confucianism: The Orphan of Chao, The Soul of Ch'ien-Nu Leaves Her Body, The Injustice Done to Tou Ngo, Chang Boils the Sea, Autumn in Han Palace, and A Stratagem of Interlocking Rings.

Note on the Illustrations

The Orphan of Chao
Chi Chün-hsiang

The Soul of Ch'ien-Nü Leaves Her Body
Chêng Teh-hui

The Injustice Done to Tou Ngo
Kuan Han-ch'ing

Change Boils the Sea
Li Hao-ku

Autumn in Han Palace
Ma Chih-yüan

A Strategem of Interlocking Rings

Musical Instruments Used in Yüan Drama