Electra and Other Plays

Electra; Ajax; Women of Trachis; Philoctetes

Sophocles - Author

David Raeburn - Translator

David Raeburn - Preface by

David Raeburn - Notes by

Pat Easterling - Introduction by

Paperback | $13.00 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780140449785 | 256 pages | 24 Jun 2008 | Penguin Classics | 5.07 x 7.79in | 18 - AND UP
Summary of Electra and Other Plays Summary of Electra and Other Plays Reviews for Electra and Other Plays An Excerpt from Electra and Other Plays
Four seminal tragedies by the master Greek dramatist, in sparkling new translations

Of the more than one hundred plays Sophocles wrote over the course of his long life, only seven survive. This volume collects four of them, all newly translated. Electra portrays the grief of a young woman for her father, Agamemnon, who has been killed by her motherís lover. Ajax depicts the enigma of power and weakness vis-ŗvis the fall of the great hero. Women of Trachis dramatizes the tragic love and error of Heraclesís deserted wife, Deianeira; Philoctetes examines the conflict between physical force and moral strength.