Penguin.com (usa)

The Art of Wishing

Lindsay Ribar - Author

Paperback | $9.99 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780142425299 | 336 pages | 12 Jun 2014 | Speak | 8.26 x 5.51in | 12 - AND UP years
Additional Formats:
Summary of The Art of Wishing Summary of The Art of Wishing Reviews for The Art of Wishing An Excerpt from The Art of Wishing
"Genies for the modern age, with passion, darkness, and heart. I loved it!" —Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Sometimes the most terrifying thing is getting what you really want. 

Oliver’s skin was still warm, even though there wasn’t a wish waiting to be granted. That strange, spicy-tingly heat spread through my fingers again, and I squeezed his hand a little as we walked. Maybe it was just a reaction to him being inside my head, or to feeling him use his magic, but I suddenly found myself thinking about his pretty eyes, and wondering what it would be like to kiss him. I wondered if his lips felt like magic, too.
He glanced curiously at me, and I remembered: He could hear what I wanted. Our eyes locked, and my heart leaped into my throat. What did I want?


Oliver’s magic binds him to Margo until she makes three wishes. And while she tries to figure out what to wish for she begins to realize he might be what she wants most. The Art of Wishing is a modern romance with a touch of magic that is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Susane Colosanti!


“Okay, you said you’re a what?”

“A genie,” he said, lowering his fork to his plate.
“Right,” I murmured. “So, genies are real. You are a genie. I get three wishes. Okay. What else? Do you live in a bottle?”
“No,” he said, sounding almost offended. “I live in an apartment.”
“Are you seriously telling me the truth about this?” I asked.
“I seriously am,” he replied. “I was also serious about stealing a fry.”
“Oh, for heaven’s sake, take the fries. Have as many as you want. But, I mean, you don’t look like a genie.”
He raised an eyebrow. “You mean I’m not blue and I don’t sound like Robin Williams?”
“That’s not what I meant,” I said.
He grinned at me.
“Okay, fine, that’s what I meant. But I mean, look at that movie. Aladdin rubs the lamp, right, and it’s all fireworks and explosions, and out pops this genie, and you look at him and you go, ‘Oh, hey, look, it’s a genie.’ But you? You look… normal.”
“Except for when I disappear.”
“Well, yeah, except for that. But how do I know—“
“Try it,” he said, wiggling his eyebrows conspiratorially. “Make a wish. I won’t tell anyone, I promise.”


Praise for The Art of Wishing:

"Genies for the modern age, with passion, darkness, and heart. I loved it!" —Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"The Art of Wishing is a fresh, fun, surprisingly poignant take on what it means to get what you wish for. With sexy genies and genuine stakes, I couldn't wish for a better story." —Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author of Midnight Blue-Light Special

"Reading The Art of Wishing was like finding a new favorite song! The love between a musician and her genie is so bittersweet, so utterly human, it makes magic feel real—a feat all paranormal romances attempt, but few achieve." —Jeri Smith-Ready, author of Shine

The Art of Wishing stands head and shoulders above competition because of its main character Margo. Ribar brings us a heroine who is quick-witted, amusing to read, and honest.” —Tor.com

“Rich with romance, magic, and action, this novel will captivate teens.” —SLJ

"[With] a genie like no other. . . this lighthearted book is a well-rounded combination of humor, romance and paranormal suspense." —Kirkus Reviews

"Margo and Oliver are extremely likable, with an easy camaraderie that pulls the reader straight into the story." —Booklist



To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book