The Portable Arthur Miller

The Portable Arthur Miller

Arthur Miller - Author

Christopher W. E. Bigsby - Editor/introduction

Harold Clurman - Introduction by

Paperback | $20.00 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780142437551 | 624 pages | 29 Jul 2003 | Penguin Classics | 5.27 x 7.75in | 18 - AND UP
Summary of The Portable Arthur Miller Summary of The Portable Arthur Miller Reviews for The Portable Arthur Miller An Excerpt from The Portable Arthur Miller

Sixty years of writing from America's greatest playwright.

This classic collection-the only one-volume selection of Arthur Miller's work available-presents a rich cross section of writing from one of our most influential and humane playwrights, containing in full his masterpieces The Crucible and Death of a Salesman. This essential collection also includes the complete texts of After the Fall, The American Clock, The Last Yankee, and Broken Glass, winner of the Olivier Award for Best Play of 1995, as well as excerpts from Miller's memoir Timebends. An essay by Harold Clurman and Christopher Bigsby's introduction discuss Miller's standing as one of the greatest American playwrights of all time and his importance to twentieth-century literature.

Introduction by Harold Clurman.
Edited by Christopher Bigsby

The Portable Arthur Miller Biographical Notes
Introduction to the Original Edition by Harold Clurman
Introduction to the Revised Edition by Christopher Bigsby

Timebends (excerpt from the autobiography) (1987)
The Golden Years (excerpt from a play) (1939-1940)
Death of a Salesman (1949)
The Crucible (1953)
After the Fall (1964)
The American Clock (1980)
The Last Yankee (1993)
Broken Glass (1994)
Timebends (excerpt from the autobiography)


To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:

The author releases another book