Penguin.com (usa)

Olive's Perfect World

A Friendship Story

Jennifer Plecas - Author

Jennifer Plecas - Illustrator

Hardcover | $16.99 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780399252877 | 32 pages | 11 Jul 2013 | Philomel | 9.25 x 6.25in | 4 - 8 years
Summary of Olive's Perfect World Summary of Olive's Perfect World Reviews for Olive's Perfect World An Excerpt from Olive's Perfect World
Three's not always a crowd in this book about friendship (and the chicken dance!)

Little kittens Olive and Emily have always been friends, ever since they were little.  But now Emily has a new friend, and it makes Olive feel left out—especially when she realizes all of the things that Emily and her new friend Eva have in common--like ballet, and eating the same lunch, and wearing the same bows in their hair.  Olive imagines her perfect world, where she and Emily can be friends without Eva there at all.  But in the end, Olive realizes that being friends is about more than having things in common: it's about having fun together and cheering each other up when you're sad.  It turns out that Olive's perfect world is the world that she's living in, where she, Emily and Eva can all be friends. (And dance the chicken dance together!)

This book is perfect for fans of Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy, as well as kids whose friendships are changing and maturing as they enter kindergarten and elementary school.

Jennifer Plecas is the author and illustrator of the book Pretend, and the illustrator of Good Night, Good Knight by Shelley Moore, and Please is a Good Word To Say and Love is a Good Thing to Feel by Barbara Joosse, among others.



To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book