Penguin.com (usa)

$18.99 | add to cart

Book: Hardcover | 9.25 x 6.25in | 352 pages | ISBN 9780399256516 | 18 Sep 2012 | Putnam Juvenile | 12 - AND UP years
Harlan Coben

With over 47 million books in print worldwide, Harlan Coben's last three consecutive novels, Caught, Long Lost and Hold Tight all debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list and lists around the world. His next thriller Live Wire will be out in early spring 2011. His books are published in 40 languages around the globe and have been number one bestsellers in over a dozen countries.

Winner of the Edgar Award, Shamus Award and Anthony Award—the first author to win all three—international bestselling author Harlan Coben's critically-acclaimed novels have been called "ingenious" (New York Times), "poignant and insightful" (Los Angeles Times), "consistently ...


Read more »

Seconds Away (Book Two)

A Mickey Bolitar Novel

Harlan Coben


Watch a Video
When tragedy strikes close to home, Mickey Bolitar and his loyal new friends—sharp-witted Ema and the adorkably charming Spoon—find themselves at the center of a terrifying mystery involving the shooting of their friend Rachel. Now, not only does Mickey have to continue his quest to uncover the truth about the Abeona Shelter, the Butcher of Lodz and the mysterious death of his father, he needs to figure out who shot Rachel—no matter what it takes.
 
Mickey has always been ready to sacrifice everything to help the people he loves. But with danger just seconds away, how can he protect them when he’s not even sure who—or what—he’s protecting them from?
 




FROM KIRKUS REVIEWS:
 
“Coben deftly weaves these multiple plot threads into a compelling whole . . . An involving thriller that moves like lightning.”
 
 
FROM BOOKLIST:
 
“Mickey’s fast-paced, first person narration won’t disappoint his growing fan base. The satisfying conclusion leaves enough open-ended questions to continue this gripping series.”
 
 
FROM VOYA:
 
“The character development is solid . . . and readers will enjoy Mickey’s internal dialogue as well as his relationships with Ema and Spoon . . . Recommend this for readers who enjoy Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series or Charlie Higson’s Young James Bond novels.”


With over 47 million books in print worldwide, Harlan Coben's last three consecutive novels, Caught, Long Lost and Hold Tight all debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list and lists around the world. His next thriller Live Wire will be out in early spring 2011. His books are published in 40 languages around the globe and have been number one bestsellers in over a dozen countries.

Winner of the Edgar Award, Shamus Award and Anthony Award—the first author to win all three—international bestselling author Harlan Coben's critically-acclaimed novels have been called "ingenious" (New York Times), "poignant and insightful" (Los Angeles Times), "consistently entertaining" (Houston Chronicle), "superb" (Chicago Tribune) and "must reading" (Philadelphia Inquirer). His most recent novels, Caught, Long Lost, Hold Tight, The Woods, Promise Me, The Innocent, Just One Look, No Second Chance, Tell No One and Gone for Good have appeared on the top of all the major bestseller lists including the New York Times, London Times, Le Monde, Publishers Weekly, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal and USA TODAY.

Harlan's novel Tell No One has been turned into the commercial and critical smash hit French film of the same name, starring Francois Cluzet and Kristin Scott Thomas. The movie was the top box office foreign-language film of the year in USA, won the Lumiere (French Golden Globe) for best picture and was nominated for nine Cesars (French Oscar) and won four, including best actor, best director and best music. To see the trailer, click here and for stills and to see Harlan appearing in the film, visit our gallery page. The movie is now available in DVD and Blu-Ray. An American/Hollywood remake is in the works.

In his first books, Coben immersed himself in the exploits of sports agent Myron Bolitar. Critics loved the series, saying, "You race to turn pages… both suspenseful and often surprisingly funny" (People). After seven books Coben wanted to try something different. "I came up with a great idea that simply would not work for Myron," says Coben. The result was the critically acclaimed New York Times bestseller Tell No One, which became the most decorated thriller of 2001—nominated for an Edgar, an Anthony, a Macavity, a Nero, and a Barry; winner of the Audie Award for Best Audio Mystery/Suspense Book (read by Steven Weber); and a #1 hardcover book on the Book Sense 76 list. Coben followed the success of Tell No One with the blockbuster New York Times bestsellers Gone for Good (2002), No Second Chance (2003), and Just One Look (2004) and The Innocent (2005). Bookspan, recognizing Coben's broad international appeal, named No Second Chance its first ever International Book of the Month in 2003—the Main Selection in 15 different countries.

Coben was the first writer in more than a decade to be invited to write fiction for the New York Times op-ed page. His Father's Day short story, The Key to My Father, appeared June 15, 2003.

Since his critically-acclaimed Myron Bolitar series debuted in 1995, Harlan Coben has won the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Allan Poe Award and was nominated for the Edgar two other times. Harlan also won the Anthony Award at the World Mystery Conference, was nominated for another Anthony Award, won the Shamus Award by the Private Eye Writers of America, was nominated for another Shamus, and was twice nominated for the Dilys Award by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association.

In the United Kingdom, his novel One False Move earned him the prestigious "Fresh Talent Award", given annually by Great Britain's largest bookstore chain, W. H. Smith, and Gone for Good won the W. H. SMITH "Thumping Good Read" Award. In France, Tell No One (Ne Le Dis A Persone) won Le Grand Prix des Lectrices de Elle for fiction. His novels have been People magazine Page-Turners of the Week and a Publishers Weekly Best of the Year pick.

Harlan was born in Newark, New Jersey. After graduating from Amherst College a political science major, Harlan worked in the travel industry. He now lives in New Jersey with his wife, Anne Armstrong-Coben MD, a pediatrician, and their four children.

Please alert me via email when:

The author releases another book

Sign Up

Sign up for the Penguin newsletter here»

About the BookAdditional FormatsHarlan Coben
Praise

FROM KIRKUS REVIEWS:
 
“Coben deftly weaves these multiple plot threads into a compelling whole . . . An involving thriller that moves like lightning.”
 
 
FROM BOOKLIST:
 
“Mickey’s fast-paced, first person narration won’t disappoint his growing fan base. The satisfying conclusion leaves enough open-ended questions to continue this gripping series.”
 
 
FROM VOYA:
 
“The character development is solid . . . and readers will enjoy Mickey’s internal ...

Read more »