Penguin.com (usa)

Prodigy

A Legend Novel

Marie Lu - Author

Hardcover | $17.99 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780399256769 | 384 pages | 29 Jan 2013 | Putnam Juvenile | 9.25 x 6.25in | 12 - AND UP years
Additional Formats:
Summary of Prodigy Summary of Prodigy Reviews for Prodigy An Excerpt from Prodigy
Featured on Entertainment Weekly's MUST-LIST!

The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's New York Times bestseller, LEGEND—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!


June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long. 

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

 


Watch a Video


Praise for Marie Lu’s New York Times bestseller, PRODIGY:
 
Featured on ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY’S MUST-LIST!
 
From THE LOS ANGELES TIMES:
“Marie Lu has beaten the curse with Prodigy. . . it has all the chivalry of Robin Hood and all the shine and grime of Blade Runner . . . The well-drawn worlds, political undercurrents and the believability of the characters make it all feel fresh . . . Lu proves that a Book 2 needn't play second fiddle, providing intrigue and deep pleasure all its own.”
 
 
From THE NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS:
“. . . clear your calendar to allow yourself the luxury of reading this book in one or two sittings. You will be shaken . . .”
 
 
STARRED REVIEW from PUBLISHERS WEEKLY:
 “Lu opts for a high simmer of intrigue in her sequel to Legend…taut and insightful.”
 
 
STARRED REVIEW from SHELF AWARENESS:
Stunning follow-up to Legend . . . The thrilling action and futuristic settings are sure to please fans of Divergent.”
 
 
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Praise for Marie Lu’s New York Times bestseller LEGEND:
 
From ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY:
“Fine writing and excellent execution. Sequel, please!”

 
From THE NEW YORK TIMES:
Legend doesn’t merely survive the hype, it deserves it.”
 
 
From USA TODAY:
“Marie Lu’s dystopian novel is a ‘Legend’ in the making.”
 
 
From THE LOS ANGELES TIMES:
“an action-packed love story full of inventive details.”
 
 
STARRED REVIEW from PUBLISHERS WEEKLY:
Lu’s debut is a stunner. . . raises hopes high for the sequels to come. ”
 
 
STARRED REVIEW from KIRKUS REVIEWS:
 “A gripping thriller in dystopic future Los Angeles. This is no didactic near-future warning of present evils, but a cinematic adventure featuring endearing, compelling heroes.”
 
 
STARRED REVIEW from BOOKLIST:
 “[D]elicious details keep pages turning . . . you’ve got the makings for a potent sequel.”
 
 
STARRED REVIEW from VOYA:
 “A fast-paced blend of action and science fiction (with only a hint of potential romance) means that this one will likely appeal to male and female readers alike.  Debut author Lu has managed a great feat—emulating a highly successful young adult series while staying true to her own voice. Legend will give Hunger Games fans something worthwhile to read.”
 
 
STARRED REVIEW from LIBRARY MEDIA CONNECTION:
 “This book stands out . . .”
 
 
FROM KAMI GARCIA, New York Times bestselling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures trilogy
“A romantic thriller set in a post-apocalyptic world where nothing is what it seems—Legend is impossible to put down and even harder to forget.”
 
 
FROM SARAH REES BRENNAN, author of The Demon Lexicon trilogy
“A compelling dystopic world, with diverse characters, high tension and political intrigue. [If] you liked the Hunger Games, you'll love this.”



To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book