Penguin.com (usa)

The Edge of Nowhere

Elizabeth George - Author

Hardcover | $18.99 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780670012961 | 448 pages | 04 Sep 2012 | Viking Children's | 9.25 x 6.25in | 12 - AND UP years
Additional Formats:
Summary of The Edge of Nowhere Summary of The Edge of Nowhere Reviews for The Edge of Nowhere An Excerpt from The Edge of Nowhere
The first young adult book by a #1 New York Times bestselling author

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it's a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn't suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandon orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. Elizabeth George, bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels, brings her elegant style, intricate plotting, incisive characterization, and top-notch storytelling to her first book for teens.


Praise for Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

“George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy.” —School Library Journal

“...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin.” —BCCB

"In her first foray into YA fiction, Ms George (a beloved adult suspense novelist) has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel....the writing is superb from Ms. George, as always but...it's the combination of great characters and relationships that truly have this novel raising the bar when it comes to today's YA fiction."
                                                                                                                --Suspense Magazine

Edgar Award nominee
Agatha Award nominee



To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book