Penguin.com (usa)

The Rime of the Modern Mariner

Nick Hayes - Author

Hardcover | $32.00 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780670025800 | 336 pages | 25 Oct 2012 | Viking Adult | 5.74 x 9.56in
Summary of The Rime of the Modern Mariner Summary of The Rime of the Modern Mariner Reviews for The Rime of the Modern Mariner An Excerpt from The Rime of the Modern Mariner
An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem

Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Mariner is a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch—thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas.

Hayes’s visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem’s enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man’s thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, The Rime of the Modern Mariner will appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.




To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book