Penguin.com (usa)

The Shadows

Olive and the Shadows

Jacqueline West - Author

Hardcover | $16.99 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780803734401 | 256 pages | 15 Jun 2010 | Dial | 9.25 x 6.25in | 10 - AND UP years
Additional Formats:
Summary of The Shadows Summary of The Shadows Reviews for The Shadows An Excerpt from The Shadows
When eleven-year-old Olive moves into the crumbling old mansion on Linden Street, she's right to think there's something weird about the place, especially the walls covered in creepy antique paintings. But when she finds a pair of old-fashioned glasses in a dusty drawer, she discovers the most peculiar thing yet. She can travel inside these paintings to Elsewhere, a world that's strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. Olive soon finds that Elsewhere has secrets to hideÑand the most annoying of them is Morton, a small boy with a big temper. As he and Olive form an uneasy alliance, Olive finds herself caught in a plan darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. It's up to her to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.

For fans of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman comes a tale at turns haunting, moving, and darkly funny (and best if read with a flashlight under the bed sheetsÑshhh!).

"A suspenseful plot and insight into childhood loneliness will have readers anxiously awaiting the new book." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

"I would rate this book a 9.5 out of 10. This is a great summer read that will let your imagination run wild." - TIME for Kids


To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book