Penguin.com (usa)

King Jack and the Dragon

Peter Bentley - Author

Helen Oxenbury - Illustrator

Hardcover | $17.99 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9780803736986 | 32 pages | 18 Aug 2011 | Dial | 9.25 x 6.25in | 3 - 5 years
Summary of King Jack and the Dragon Summary of King Jack and the Dragon Reviews for King Jack and the Dragon An Excerpt from King Jack and the Dragon
A lively playtime adventure that becomes a warm and cozy bedtime bookperfect for every little knight-in-training. From the illustrator of the award-winning We’re Going on a Bear Hunt.
 
Night is falling and playtime is nearly over. But brave King Jack and his faithful knights Zak and Caspar are still protecting their castle fort from fierce dragons and terrible beasts. This captivating, joyful make-believe adventure is the perfect bedtime story for brave children everywhere. Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Dinosaur Roar will especially enjoy this imaginative tale.

An ALA Notable Book
Bank Street Book Committee Best Children’s Books of the Year
Kate Greenaway Award

“It’s an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent’s embrace.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“A tale of make-believe that children will delight in hearing again and again.”—School Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Sure to be read aloud again and again, this testament to imaginative play exudes warmth.”—Kirkus Reviews


“At once contemporary and classic.” — The New York Times


“Though the characters are wholly modern, there is a timelessness to the cycle of excitement, apprehension and parental comfort that should give this lovely book a long stay on the nursery shelf.” — The Wall Street Journal


* “It’s an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent’s embrace.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review


* “A tale of make-believe that children will delight in hearing again and again.” — School Library Journal, starred review


“The rhyming verse, large trim size, and detailed illustrations…make this a suitable story for group sharing, while the sweet, intimate tone will make it a family favorite.” — Booklist


“From this simple premise of imaginative play, Bently and Oxenbury create a classically sweet picture book.” — Horn Book


“This one is sure to become a full-on family favorite at bedtime.” — The Washington Post


“Altogether, ‘King Jack’ is just about perfect.” — The Sacramento Bee



To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book