Penguin.com (usa)

Candlemoth

A Thriller

R.J. Ellory - Author

ePub eBook | $12.99 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9781468306415 | 352 pages | 04 Apr 2013 | Overlook | 18 - AND UP
Additional Formats:
Summary of Candlemoth Summary of Candlemoth Reviews for Candlemoth An Excerpt from Candlemoth
With the verve and gift for gripping storytelling that made his previous books international bestsellers, R.J. Ellory returns with a dramatic saga of murder and retribution, set in the tumultuous 1960s. Daniel Ford and Nathan Verney were six years old when they first met by a South Carolina lake and became best friends against all odds—Daniel was white, and Nathan was black. Thirty years later, Daniel is convicted of Nathan’s murder, and he now faces the long, lonely walk to the electric chair. With time running out until his execution, Daniel tells a sympathetic priest his story, sweeping through first loves, Vietnam, and, finally, the pair’s flight from the draft, which ended in Nathan's brutal murder. A powerful vision of the American South in an age of upheaval, Candlemoth is a stunning suspense novel—and an unforgettable tale of lost friendship.


“The storytelling’s beckoning quality and the conclusion’s welcome twist easily bury [all] grievances. Englishman Ellory convincingly disproves the belief of many that southern writing can’t be convincingly mimicked. For fans of Tom Franklin, John Hart, and, remarkably, even Pat Conroy.”  —Booklist



To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book