Penguin.com (usa)

The Dissertation

Tinieblas Book Two

R. M. Koster - Author

ePub eBook | $9.99 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9781468309096 | 448 pages | 16 Dec 2013 | Overlook | 18 - AND UP
Additional Formats:
Summary of The Dissertation Summary of The Dissertation Reviews for The Dissertation An Excerpt from The Dissertation
The second book in R.M. Koster's highly acclaimed Tinieblas trilogy (following The Prince), The Dissertation is the story of--and a story by--Camilo Fuertes. To fulfill his Ph.D. requirement, Fuertes decides to write about his father, the martyred president of Tinieblas, a country in Latin America. We follow Leon as he winds his twisted path through delinquency, learning, bravery, and incest to the presidency. At once a powerful vision of Latin American history and a brilliant parody of the academic form--complete with endnotes!--The Dissertation is an essential postmodern novel in the tradition of Vonnegut, Barth and Nabokov, ready to be embraced by a new generation of readers.


"A careful fake is better than the truth,
according to fictional Banana Republic
president León Fuertes, and so it is with
Koster’s 1975 novel masquerading as a
doctoral dissertation, reissued after four
decades and still fresh, funny, and disturbingly
relevant. Brooklyn, N.Y.–born, Ivy League–
educated, longtime Panama resident Koster
portrays Latin America with a comedian’s
sense of timing, a scholar’s sense of history,
and a native’s fond despair." —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review


"It gave me a lot of pleasure. As with Pale Fire, it's the [end]notes I cherish and will read and reread." --Anthony Burgess

"One of the few books of the past 20 years that deserves to be called astonishing. It is a brilliant novel, structurally a marvel and, in all, a demonstration of elan as that quality seldom is experienced in a work of fiction." --Des Moines Sunday Register



To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book