Penguin.com (usa)

Knife Music

A Novel

David Carnoy - Author

Hardcover | $24.95 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9781590203255 | 352 pages | 08 Jul 2010 | Overlook | 9.25 x 6.25in | 18 - AND UP
Additional Formats:
Summary of Knife Music Summary of Knife Music Reviews for Knife Music An Excerpt from Knife Music
Kristen Kroiter was sixteen, a high-school sophomore, when she was injured in a car accident. Dr. Ted Cogan had saved her life when he treated her in the ER six months ago-but now police detectives were questioning Cogan about her, in intimate detail. What was going on? What had she told them?

That's just it, the cops said. She hadn't told them anything. She had died. Looked like a suicide. And Cogan was in a heap of trouble.

Tense and twisting, Knife Music is the story of a doctor struggling to clear his name after being accused of raping and causing the suicide of a young girl. The novel pits Cogan, a forty-three-year- old surgeon and self-described womanizer, against Hank Madden, a handicapped veteran detective. From the outset it's not clear who is victim and who is victimizer, as the usually dispassionate.

Madden grapples with his long- suppressed prejudices and his obsession with bringing Ted Cogan to justice at any cost. It all leads up to the most stunning surprise ending since Scott Turow's Presumed Innocent.

"Knife Music is a tense cat-and-mouse thriller, but with real heart. Cinematic and compelling, it kept me riveted to the last page." --R. J. Ellory, award-winning author of A Quiet Belief in Angels

"Carnoy's debut is gripping, suspenseful, totally believable-and shockingly good." --Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Tell No One

"Tautly paced and full of crisp dialogue, Carnoy's prose is pitch-perfect whether delving into medical and police procedural or sussing out the nuances of campus hookup culture. In Cogan, he's concocted an appealing, edgy protagonist-cocksure, arrogant and abrasive towards his less competent colleagues and 'difficult' patients, but possessed of a roguish charm that makes readers want to tag along, even if they're not sure where his moral compass is pointing. A gripping thriller debut that is just what the doctor ordered." -- Kirkus Discoveries

"Impressive is the debut of David Carnoy with the surprisingly complex and sophisticated Knife Music. It's a combination legal/medical novel, so neatly plotted it seems the first-timer might have over-reached. Yet Carnoy resolves everything with enough originality to deliver a satisfying jolt." --ForeWord Magazine

"Fans of Law and Order type mysteries with ever-morphing questions of who's the victim and who's the perp will enjoy this one." --Library Journal


To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:


The author releases another book