W.S. Merwin: Collected Poems 1996-2011

(Library of America #241)

W.S. Merwin - Author

J. D. McClatchy - Editor

Hardcover | $37.50 | add to cart | view cart
ISBN 9781598532098 | 750 pages | 16 May 2013 | Library of America | 5.11 x 8.14in | 18 - AND UP
Summary of W.S. Merwin: Collected Poems 1996-2011 Summary of W.S. Merwin: Collected Poems 1996-2011 Reviews for W.S. Merwin: Collected Poems 1996-2011 An Excerpt from W.S. Merwin: Collected Poems 1996-2011
Here is the second volume in a definitive, career-spanning two-volume edition of the poems of the former U.S. Poet Laureate, which is also available as a deluxe boxed set, The Collected Poems of W. S. Merwin (described below).

Oracular and elegant, W. S. Merwin’s poetry reveals a heightened sense of what is essential to human consciousness: the fragile framing of nature, the mysteries of memory and perception, the inescapable fact of our mortality. In a career spanning seven decades— from his brilliant emergence as the winner of the Yale Younger Poets’ Prize in 1952 to his recent term as U.S. Poet Laureate—he has fashioned a poetics unmistakably his own, marked by a stripped-down, unpunctuated style that foregrounds his responsiveness, spiritual insights, and facility with unadorned, elemental language. Now, with this two-volume edition, Merwin becomes only the second living poet to have his work collected by The Library of America. Here are such landmark books as his debut volume A Mask for Janus (1952), which shows the young poet engaged in a fruitful dialogue with Auden and Berryman; The Lice (1967), with its impassioned political poems about the Vietnam War and ecological catastrophe; The Vixen (1996), which offers vivid recollections of southwestern France; the epic verse novel The Folding Cliffs (2008), set in nineteenth-century Hawaii; and The Shadow of Sirius (2008), with its “late poems / that are made of words / that have come the whole way / they have been there.”

To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication

Please alert me via email when:

The author releases another book