Penguin.com (usa)

Science & Nature
Environment, Nature
Mathematics
Science
New Releases
Science & Nature Paperback
Science & Nature Hardcover

Browse Books - Science

66 items found in the Science category.



Browse Results 1-20 sorted by date.
Sort by:  
Search within results
The Fatal Strain by Alan SipressThe Fatal Strain
On the Trail of Avian Flu and the Coming Pandemic
Alan Sipress
$17.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.51 x 8.50in | 416 pages | ISBN 9780143118305 | 30 Nov 2010 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP
More...
On the Origin of Species by Damien HirstOn the Origin of Species
Charles Darwin, William Bynum, Damien Hirst
$13.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.07 x 7.79in | 480 pages | ISBN 9780140439120 | 27 Oct 2009 | Penguin Classics | 18 - AND UP
More...
The Creative Brain by Nancy C. AndreasenThe Creative Brain
The Science of Genius
Nancy C. Andreasen
$15.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 8.26 x 5.23in | 224 pages | ISBN 9780452287815 | 31 Oct 2006 | Plume | 18 - AND UP

Discover the secrets of creative genius More...

The Planets by Dava SobelThe Planets
Dava Sobel
$15.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 0.51 x 0.78in | 288 pages | ISBN 9780142001165 | 31 Oct 2006 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP

“[The Planets] lets us fall in love with the heavens all over again.” —The New York Times Book Review More...

Other formats:
Hardcover: $24.95 | eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
The Singularity Is Near by Ray KurzweilThe Singularity Is Near
When Humans Transcend Biology
Ray Kurzweil
$22.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 8.26 x 5.23in | 672 pages | ISBN 9780143037880 | 26 Sep 2006 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP

A radical and optimistic view of the future course of human devevlopment - by "the best person I know at predicting the future of artificial intelligence" (Bill Gates) More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $17.99
The Theory of Almost Everything by Robert OerterThe Theory of Almost Everything
The Standard Model, the Unsung Triumph of Modern Physics
Robert Oerter
$17.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 8.26 x 5.23in | 336 pages | ISBN 9780452287860 | 26 Sep 2006 | Plume | 18 - AND UP

For fans of Brian Greene and Stephen Hawking, a guide to the most important theory in modern physics, in a tour de force of science writing More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $13.99
Stem Cell Now by Christopher Thomas ScottStem Cell Now
A Brief Introduction to the Coming Medical Revolution
Christopher Thomas Scott
$16.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 8.26 x 5.23in | 272 pages | ISBN 9780452287853 | 29 Aug 2006 | Plume | 18 - AND UP

The essential account of the most important scientific advance—and most volatile ethical debate—of our time More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
Our Inner Ape by Frans de WaalOur Inner Ape
A Leading Primatologist Explains Why We Are Who We Are
Frans de Waal
$16.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 8.26 x 5.23in | 304 pages | ISBN 9781594481963 | 01 Aug 2006 | Riverhead | 18 - AND UP
More...
Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
Relativity by Nigel CalderRelativity
The Special and the General Theory
Albert Einstein, Nigel Calder
$13.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 8.26 x 5.23in | 208 pages | ISBN 9780143039822 | 25 Jul 2006 | Penguin Classics | 18 - AND UP

The Nobel Prize-winning scientist's presentation of his landmark theory More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $11.99
Everything Bad is Good for You by Steven JohnsonEverything Bad is Good for You
How Today's Popular Culture is Actually Making Us Smarter
Steven Johnson
$16.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 8.26 x 5.23in | 272 pages | ISBN 9781594481949 | 02 May 2006 | Riverhead | 18 - AND UP

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Mind Wide Open comes a groundbreaking assessment of popular culture as it's never been considered before: through the lens of intelligence. More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
Splendid Solution by Jeffrey KlugerSplendid Solution
Jeffrey Kluger
$16.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.98 x 8.97in | 384 pages | ISBN 9780425205709 | 07 Feb 2006 | Berkley | 18 - AND UP

Jonas Salk was born shortly before one of the worst polio epidemics in United States history More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
Black Bodies and Quantum Cats by Alan ChodosBlack Bodies and Quantum Cats
Tales from the Annals of Physics
Jennifer Ouellette, Alan Chodos
$15.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.31 x 7.99in | 336 pages | ISBN 9780143036036 | 01 Dec 2005 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP

A delightfully readable history of physics for armchair physicists and other curious readers More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
The Planets by Dava SobelThe Planets
Dava Sobel
$24.95|add to cart
Book: Hardcover | 5.51 x 8.26in | 288 pages | ISBN 9780670034468 | 11 Oct 2005 | Viking Adult | 18 - AND UP

From the bestselling author of Longitude and Galileo's Daughter, a stunningly illustrated love letter to our solar system More...

Other formats:
Paperback: $15.00 | eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
The Great Influenza by John M. BarryThe Great Influenza
The Story of the Deadliest Pandemic in History
John M. Barry
$18.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.51 x 8.26in | 560 pages | ISBN 9780143036494 | 04 Oct 2005 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP
More...
Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $14.99
DescartesDescartes' Error
Emotion, Reason, and the Human Brain
Anthony Damasio
$16.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.11 x 7.87in | 336 pages | ISBN 9780143036227 | 27 Sep 2005 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP

"A fascinating exploration of the biology of reason and its inseperable dependence on emotion." -Oliver Sacks More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
On Natural Selection by Charles DarwinOn Natural Selection
Great Ideas
Charles Darwin
$11.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 4.48 x 7.08in | 128 pages | ISBN 9780143036302 | 06 Sep 2005 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP

Charles Darwin's seismic theory of evolution turned the Victorian world upside down, utterly rewrote our notions of life on earth, and is still attacked by religious creationists today. More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $9.99
The Myth of Solid Ground by David L. UlinThe Myth of Solid Ground
Earthquakes, Prediction, and the Fault Line Between Reason and Faith
David L. Ulin
$15.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.27 x 7.87in | 304 pages | ISBN 9780143035251 | 26 Jul 2005 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP

"A stunning, enchanting" (Los Angeles Times) inquiry into the science—and pseudoscience—of earthquake prediction More...

Mutants by Armand Marie LeroiMutants
On Genetic Variety and the Human Body
Armand Marie Leroi
$17.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.23 x 7.91in | 448 pages | ISBN 9780142004821 | 25 Jan 2005 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP

"An exqusitely life-enhancing book.... Read it and marvel." —Nature More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $13.99
Surviving the Extremes by Kenneth KamlerSurviving the Extremes
What Happens to the Human Body at the Limits of Human Endurance
Kenneth Kamler
$16.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 5.51 x 8.46in | 336 pages | ISBN 9780143034513 | 28 Dec 2004 | Penguin | 18 - AND UP

"High-powered drama that could save your life." —Clive Cussler More...

DeathDeath's Acre
Inside the Legendary Forensic Lab the Body Farm Where the Dead Do Tell Tales
William Bass, Jon Jefferson
$16.00|add to cart
Book: Paperback | 6.02 x 8.97in | 320 pages | ISBN 9780425198322 | 05 Oct 2004 | Berkley | 18 - AND UP

Foreword by Patricia Cornwell More...

Other formats:
eBook - ePub eBook: $12.99
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next »