Watch the video trailer for Masterpiece's Complete Jane Austen

Rediscover the timeless novels of Jane Austen in celebration of Masterpiece's Complete Jane Austen film festival—airing on PBS this winter.

    Viewing Schedule:
  • January 13—Persuasion
  • January 20—Northanger Abbey
  • January 27—Mansfield Park
  • February 10—Pride & Prejudice (Part I)
  • February 17—Pride & Prejudice (Part II)
  • February 24—Pride & Prejudice (Part III)
  • March 23—Emma
  • March 30—Sense & Sensibility (Part I)
  • April 6—Sense & Sensibility (Part II)

For more information, visit
The Masterpiece Theatre® broadcast of Pride and Prejudice is the first in the U.S. other than on A&E Television Networks.

About Jane

As a girl Jane Austen wrote stories, including burlesques of popular romances. Only four of her novels were published in her lifetime — Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1816). Two other novels, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, were published posthumously in 1818 with a biographical notice by her brother, Henry Austen, the first formal announcement of her authorship. Persuasion was written in a race against failing health in 1815-16. She also left two earlier compositions, a short epistolary novel, Lady Susan, and an unfinished novel, The Watsons. At the time of her death, she was working on a new novel, Sanditon, a fragmentary draft of which survives.

The Complete Novels
Jane Austen Tivia

Q. Which of the following men did Harriet never fall in love with in Emma?

A. Frank Churchill
B. Mr Elton
C. Mr Knightly
D. Robert Martin

Answer: A